Stassa Mark of Stassa Designs

unnamed (1)

Who inspired you to start Stassa Designs? Back in college I was working part time at Nordstrom. I would design and handcraft my jewelry to coordinate with my outfits for work to save money. My coworkers all noticed my jewelry and eventually started asking me to make them some pieces in different colors. I started making a lot of jewelry sets for this very sweet woman in cosmetics named Martha. She worked at the Estee Lauder counter and had to wear a uniform everyday. She had me make many statement earrings, necklaces, and bracelets in pops of colors so she wouldn’t feel so bored with her everyday uniform. It was Martha who kept pushing me to start a business. I didn’t think anyone else would really be interested but I thought I would give it a shot. If anything, I would have jewelry to wear for myself. My business took off and I even became a vendor and sold an exclusive Breast Cancer Awareness jewelry line at all Bay Area Nordstrom locations.

What are favorite collections/pieces? My favorite collection is my Rosey Posey Collection. I use Sterling Silver, Gold-Fill, or Rose Gold-Fill wire to design and hand wire wrap a ring, pendant or earrings into a delicate shape of a rose.

 How do you live a Balanced goddess lifestyle? I live a Balanced goddess lifestyle by managing my time efficiently. It’s not always easy working from home but I am so blessed to have this opportunity. I am towards the end of my first pregnancy and the only thing that has kept me centered is my weekly prenatal yoga and biweekly pregnancy massage. Not to mention the wonderful support of my family and friends!
How do you take time for yourself out of your busy schedule? I take time out of my busy schedule for myself by “unplugging” daily. This was so hard at first because I wanted to be totally available at any moment to anyone but I have found that this is essential for me. I also always make sure I get 7-8 hours of sleep a night to be fully recharged for the next busy day ahead of me. What women entrepreneurs do you look up to and why? There are many women entrepreneurs that I look up to but two women stand out the most. I love Betsey Johnson’s feminine style, she isn’t afraid to be a little different or over the top in her fashion design. She is a long time breast cancer survivor and I had the pleasure to listen to her talk about her battle and meet her in person and gift her a piece of my jewelry collection. I will never forget it! Another woman entrepreneur that I look up to is my boss and mentor, Sara Schaer. This woman does it all while balancing a beautiful family with 2 young boys and makes it all look so easy. As a woman in the startup world there are so many challenges and her perseverance has paid off. Sara Schaer is CEO and cofounder of Kango, a mobile service that provides rides + care for children in the Bay Area.

 

What community give back organizations are you passionate about? I am very active and passionate about the organization United Cerebral Palsy of San Joaquin County. UCP enables children and adults with disabilities to live “Life without Limits”. Their programs are a valuable part to individuals with disabilities in our community and their staff is so caring and compassionate. My husband and I are a sponsor every year at their annual crab-feed and always donate jewelry to their silent auctions.

 Please visit Stassa Designs Instagram page

Leave a comment